Tap to Read ➤

Chakra Points

Megha Tiwari
Yoga and meditation are the best methods to open chakras. They help in keeping the mind and body of an individual in sound state. More on this follows...
The word chakra has been borrowed from a Sanskrit word that means wheel of light. It is said that our body and our consciousness is composed of seven major and twenty-one minor chakras.
Major energy centers are responsible for circulating energy throughout the body, and this is known as prana whereas, minor centres are mainly used for healing purposes.
The seven chakras have seven colors of the rainbow associated with them. If they are not properly balanced or are blocked due to some reasons or not aligned properly, it can adversely affect the mental and physical state, and energy levels of the body. Each chakra located in our body carries a different meaning.
They are tuned to a particular frequency of vibration. When they are properly balanced, the body is said to be happy and healthy. The variation in vibrations is affected by music, mantras, chants, and colors.
Each chakra functions independently. So, they should be energized properly. They are responsible for raising the physical vibration of the human body, and this can be experienced when they attain a position of unison. This is measured on the scale of one to ten, and when the body achieves the maximum level of ten, it is regarded as the highest level.

Meanings and Location of Chakras

Muladhara or Root Chakra

Color: Red
Location: Located at the base of spine and groin area
Element: Earth
Significance: Signifies animal or base nature.
Swadhisthana or Sacral Hara Chakra

Color: Orange
Location: Located at genitals
Element: Water
Significance: Monitors sexuality and reproduction.
Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

Color: Yellow
Location: Located at solar plexus/navel
Element: Fire
Significance: Provides a sense of identity.
Anant or Heart Chakra

Color: Green with pinkish shade

Location: Located at the center of chest
Element: Air
Significance: Provides consciousness and love.
Vishuddha or Throat Chakra

Color: Blue

Location: Located at throat
Element: Ether or space
Significance: Responsible for self-expression, creativity and search for truth.
Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

Color: Purple

Location: Located between the eyes
Element: Light
Significance: Provides intelligence and psychic power
Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

Color: White

Location: Located above the head
Element: Sky
Significance: Connects individual with the universal

How to Activate Chakras

The best way to activate them is through meditation, accompanied with music. Meditation technique involves certain mudras. The mudras are the positions of the hands that intend to activate the blocked chakras, by enhancing the supply of energies to them. The sounds that are enchanted are borrowed from Sanskrit. The sounds that are produced are 'A' as 'ah' and 'M' as 'mng'.

Meditation to Open the Points

Root Chakra: Pronounce the sound 'LAM', with the tip of the index finger touching the tip of the thumb. Focus your mind on its location that is, at the base of spine and groin area.
Sacral Chakra: Place your palms facing upwards one above the other on the lap (right palm above the left palm) and the thumb tips touching each other. Focus on the sacral point or 2nd chakra and pronounce the sound "VAM".
Solar Plexus Chakra: Join the tip of each finger of one hand to the fingertips of other hands and place your hands just below the navel point, pointing outwards. Concentrate on your solar plexus and pronounce "RAM".
Heart Chakra: Sit in a position with a straight spine and legs crossed. Rest your left arm on the left knee and place your right arm in front of the lower part of the chest. Focus on the point located at the center of chest and chant "YAM".
Throat Chakra: The fifth chakra can be opened by crossing only the fingers, not the thumb, inwardly and allowing the tip of the thumbs to touch each other. Pull the thumb upward making an oval shape with your hands. Put all your focus on it located in the throat and pronounce the word "HAM".
Third Eye Chakra: Keep your middle finger and thumb straight touching each others tip and pointing upwards. Bend other fingers in such a way that they touch the upper two phalanges. Place your hand at the lower part of the chest. Focus on the point located at the middle of the eyebrows and pronounce the word "OM" or "AUM".
Crown Chakra: Cross all the fingers except the ring fingers and let your ring fingers touch each other's tips pointing upwards. The thumbs should be in a crossed position with right placed on the left one.
Focus on the point located on the top of the head and maintain silence. The meditation for crown chakra should only be performed once you have a stable root chakra.
Chakras are responsible for psychological well-being through the circulation of positive energy throughout the body. They provide peace of mind, and also govern mental and instinctual properties.